DSE Panel grows to meet demand

DSE has recently completed a refresh and expansion of its main expert panel. The panel provides expert advisors for our design reviews throughout London, the South East and East Anglia as well as helping us with workshops, charrettes, training and other events.  To meet the growing demand for our design review and other services we have expanded our panel from 88 to 129 members.

We received a huge number of applications to join the panel from leading built environment practitioners who want to show their commitment to built environment quality by giving advice to developers, design teams and local authorities throughout the DSE area. We are pleased to be able to appoint some big names in the industry as well as some rising talent. With this recruitment, we have strengthened our capacity is the fields of transport, highways and the public realm as well as recruiting more landscape architects. We have also taken the opportunity to improve the gender balance on our panel although we recognise we still have some way to go.

To book our panel for a design review or to discuss how we can help with workshops or training phone 01634 401166 or email David Tittle, Head of Design Advice: david@designsoutheast.org

In the coming weeks, we will be working with our local authority partners to refresh most of our local panels.

We welcome the following new faces to our panel:

Alan Bain, SYSTRA

Alex Ely, MAE

Amanda Reynolds, AR Urbanism

Amy Koerbel, AECOM

Andrew Beharrell, Pollard Thomas Edwards

Andrew Cameron, WSP

Annabel Keegan, Phil Jones Associate

Annemarie de Boom, studio|REAL and freelance urban designer

Cara Bamford, Make

Carl Gulland, John Pardey Architects

Charles Holland, Charles Holland Architects and University of Brighton

Chris Schulte, Publica Associates

Claire Perrott, Tibbalds Planning and Urban Design

Emily Read, Transport for London

Emily Walsh, SYSTRA

Eric Hallquist, Aecom

George Wade, All Design

Gillian Horn, Penoyre and Prasad

Harriet Bourne, BBUK Studio Limited

James O’Callaghan, Eckersley O’Callaghan

John Dales, Urban Movement

Katy Lock , Town & Country Planning Association

Kay Richardson, Historic England Spaces and Other Places

Kevin Radford, PRP

Lindsey Whitelaw, Consultant

Magali Thomson, Marks Barfield Architects

Marcus Lee, Leep Architects

Mark Bottomley, bptw partnership

Mehron Kirk, BDP

Murray Smith, Untitled Practice

Oli Davey, Urban Movement

Paul Reynolds, Urben

Paula Hirst, Disruptive Urbanism

Peter Dijkhuis, CBRE

Phil Jones, Phil Jones Associates

Rika Hemachandra, BAM Construction

Robin Buckle, Transport for London

Sam Willis, National Trust

Steven Shaw, Brighton & Hove City Council

Vanessa Norwood, The Architectural Association

Vanessa Ross, Arc Landscape Design and Planning.

Vincent Haines, Haines Planning Consultancy

Kingston Panel appointed

DSE has completed the recruitment and appointment of a new design review panel on behalf of the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames. The panel will review all new development proposals in Kingston over a certain threshold.

Like many outer London boroughs Kingston faces tremendous development pressures and faces the challenge of accommodating higher density development in a context of traditional suburbs and town centres. DSE have been helping Kingston face these challenges for some time but a dedicated panel will ensure there are a core of experts that really get to know the borough, its character and challenges, and can provide consistent advice to the council and developers.

Kingston is the latest local authority to commission DSE to develop and manage its design review panel.  This arrangement combines the benefits of a dedicated borough panel with the independence, experience and expertise that DSE can offer. Local authorities or regeneration projects wishing to set up their own local panels, or have existing panels managed by DSE should contact our Director, Chris Lamb, chris@designsoutheast.org.  If you are planning a development in Kingston and want to book a design review contact our Design Advice Co-ordinator Sarah Brown sarah@designsoutheast.org or call 01634 401166

The new Kingston panel members are:

Alan Shingler                        Sheppard Robson

Amy Koerbel                         Aecom

Andrej Znak                          Urban Movements and Spaces

Catherine Jenkins               Pilbrow And Partners

Chris Schulte                        Publica

Claire Bennie                        Municipal.

Dieter Kleiner                       Rcka

Harriet Bourne                     bbuk Landscape Architecture

Jane Briginshaw                  Jane Briginshaw Associates

Kyle Buchanan                     Archio

Oliver Davey                         Urban Movement

Penny Wagner                      Page Wagner Associates

Peter Neal                              Peter Neal Consulting

Sarah Wigglesworth            Sarah Wigglesworth Architects

Simon Henley                       Henley Halebrown

Steven Bee                             Steven Bee Urban Counsel

Tony Burton                          Tony Burton Consulting